History

Savola was founded in 1979 in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia with share capital of SAR 40 million and 200 employees. Back then, we were a small-scale company importing and refining vegetable oil for sale on our local market. Like any successful business, however, we had a clear vision for the future: to become the leading strategic investment group for our region and generate profits for our shareholders and investors.

In the decades that followed, dedication led to growth, followed by diversification and expansion. We initially faced fierce competition from established international players, yet were able to carve out a niche for ourselves by listening carefully to our customers’ needs and preferences. We also conducted in-depth research into the commodities market to minimize costs and maximize margins. 1994 saw us enter the sugar market by investing in our first refinery, located in Jeddah. At the time, annual production capacity was 500,000 tons per year. We also expanded our foods sector operations to Egypt, Algeria, the Levant, Iran, Morocco, Turkey, Sudan, and Kazakhstan. 

A few years later, in 1998, we made another bold addition to our portfolio by entering the retail sector through the acquisition of the Azizia Panda United group of stores. Already an established brand, we were able to enhance Panda’s positioning and benefit from its real estate holdings. Meanwhile, we also acquired minority stakes in related companies including Almarai, Herfy and Kinan, and made strategic investments in non-core sectors.

Today, after almost four decades  since Savola was founded, we let our results speak for themselves: 2015 brought net income of SAR 1.79 billion and earnings per share of SAR 3.36. But we believe that it takes more than profit margins to win over investors. Our commitment to ethical principles, summarized by our brand purpose, “Value Built on Values,” means shareholders know they are dealing with a partner they can trust. We are convinced that these guiding principles are the firm foundations on which we will build the successes of tomorrow.

MESSAGE FROM THE CEO

“Whether you are an investor, a consumer, an employee, or an interested reader, I would like to take this opportunity to personally welcome you to the Savola website. We trust that it will tell you everything you need to know about our leading strategic holding group in the MENAT (Middle East, North Africa and Turkey) region. As you read on, you will gain insight into our investments in the food and retail sector, our vision for the future and the reason why our brand purpose is ‘Value Built on Values.’

Savola was founded in 1979 and the the past four decades have seen us go from strength to strength. Through Savola Foods, our edible oil, sugar, pasta and ghee brands now market products that consumers in 30 countries know and love. Savola Retail manages 448 Panda grocery stores and had a 12.4% market share in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia in 2015 alone. Alongside this activity, our experts carefully invest funds in other companies to generate additional revenue and shareholder profits.

It is clear that change is the norm for Savola. And the coming years will be no exception to this rule. In 2015, we implemented strategic shifts that have paved the way for a bright future. Savola will gradually adopt an investment holding approach, meaning that we will direct strategy and manage growth while ensuring proper governance and greater autonomy for our subsidiaries. We will also decrease our holdings in non-core sectors over time so that we can focus on what we do best.

As ever, Savola’s vision is bold, insightful and innovative. But there is one thing that never changes: our deep commitment to acting in accordance with ethical principles. This is what set our company apart in 1979 and, as you will discover on our website, what motivates us today.”

Eng. Rayan Mohammed Fayez
CEO

Our History

  • 1979

    SAVOLA WAS FOUNDED
  • 1994

    SAVOLA ENTERED THE SUGAR SECTOR
  • 1998

    SAVOLA ACQUIRED PANDA AZIZIA UNITED
  • 2012

    SAVOLA’S RETAIL PRESENCE REACHED 181 STORES

  • 2013

    FIRST SUKUKS WERE ISSUED

  • 2013

    CAPITAL INCREASED FROM SAR 5 BILLION TO SAR 5.34 BILLION

  • 2015

    RETAIL OUTLETS INCREASED BY 30%

Feel free to contact us any time!

تاريخ الشركة

تأسّست صافولا في المملكة العربية السعودية عام 1979 بنحو 200 موظف وأسهم رأس مال بقيمة 40 مليون ريال سعودي. كانت صافولا حينها شركة صغيرة قائمة على استيراد الزيوت النباتية وتنقيتها قبل بيعها في السوق المحلية. لكنّنا سِرنَا على درب الشركات الناجحة ووضعنا رؤية واضحة ترسم مستقبل شركتنا، وقرّرنا أن نكون مجموعة استثمار استراتيجية رائدة في المنطقة، وأن نُحقّق الأرباح للمساهمين والمستثمرين.

شهِدَت العقود التالية العمل بجد واجتهاد، وأثمر التفاني عن مزيد من النمو والتقدّم، أعقبه مزيد من التوسّع وتنويع الاستثمارات. بالطبع واجهتنا في البداية منافسة قوية من الشركات الدولية القائمة بالفعل، لكنّنا حرِصنا على التعرّف على احتياجات مستهلكينا وتفضيلاتهم، ونجحنا بحمد الله في ترسيخ اسمنا في السوق. كما ساعدتنا البحوث المتعمّقة حول سوق السلع في تقليل التكاليف وزيادة هوامش الربح. وشهِدَ عام 1994 دخول صافولا سوق السكر والاستثمار في أول مصنع لتكرير السكر في جدة. وصلت القدرة الإنتاجية للمصنع حينها إلى 500,000 طن سنويًا. كذلك ركّزنا على توسيع نطاق عمليات قطاع الأغذية لتشمل مصر والجزائر والشام وإيران والمغرب وتركيا والسودان وكازاخستان.

ثم أخذنا خطوة جريئة أخرى في غضون سنوات قليلة، نحو تنويع محفظتنا الاستثمارية بدخول قطاع التجزئة والاستحواذ على مجموعة متاجر العزيزية بنده المتحدة في عام 1998. واستطعنا أن نرفع من مكانة علامة بنده المميزة بالفعل وننتفع من ممتلكاتها العقارية. كما اشترينا في ذات الوقت أسهم أقلية في شركات تعمل في قطاعات ذات صلة بعملنا مثل شركات المراعي وهرفي وكنان، ودخلنا في استثمارات استراتيجية في قطاعات خارج نطاق قطاعَيْ عملنا الأساسيّيْن.

واليوم بعد مرورما يقارب أربعة عقود على تأسيس صافولا، توصلنا لنتائج باهرة: فقد وصلَ صافي ربح المجموعة إلى 1,79 مليار ريال سعودي وبلغت ربحية السهم الواحد 3,36 ريال سعودي في عام 2015. لكنّنا نعلم أنّ إرضاء المستثمرين وكسب ثقتهم يحتاج إلى أكثر من تحقيق هوامش ربح عالية. يعلم المساهمون أنّهم يتعاملون مع شريك جدير بالثقة بفضل التزامنا بالمبادئ الأخلاقية التي يُجسّدها هدف علامتنا التجارية: "قيمة أساسها القيم". نحن نُؤمِن أنّ هذه المبادئ التوجيهية هي الأساس القوي الذي نبني عليه نجاحنا في المستقبل.

رسالة الرئيس التنفيذي

"عزيزي القارئ، سواءً كنت مستثمراً في شركتنا أو مستهلكاً لمنتجاتنا أو موظفاً ضمن فريق عملنا أو قارئاً مهتماً بأنشطتنا، يسُرّني أن أُرحّب بك على موقع مجموعة صافولا الإلكتروني. أتمنى أن يُلبّي الموقع كل احتياجاتك وأن يُقدّم لك كل المعلومات التي تبحث عنها حول مجموعتنا الاستراتيجية القابضة الرائدة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا وتركيا. سوف تكشف لك صفحات موقعنا تفاصيل استثماراتنا في قطاعَيْ الأغذية والتجزئة، وتُوضّح لك رؤيتنا للمستقبل والحكمة وراء اختيار شعار "قيمة أساسها القيم" ليكون هدف علامتنا.

تأسّست شركة صافولا في عام 1979، ولم تشهد الأربعة عقود الماضية سوى الانتقال من نجاح إلى مزيد من النجاح. تُسوّق شركة صافولا للأغذية حالياً منتجاتها من زيوت الطعام والسكر والمكرونة والسمن في 30 دولة مختلفة، حيث يُقبِل المستهلكون على شرائها، مع انتشار مراكز التصنيع عبر 7 دول. في حين يُدير قطاع التجزئة في صافولا 498 متجراً تابعاً لعلامة بنده، واستطاع أن يُهيمن في عام 2015 فقط على 12,4% من حصة السوق في المملكة العربية السعودية. كذلك يحرص خبراؤنا على الاستثمار في شركات أخرى لتحقيق إيرادات إضافية للمساهمين.

لا شك أنّ صافولا يلازمها التغيير والنمو باستمرار. ولن تحمل السنوات القادمة أي استثناء لهذه القاعدة. بادرنا في عام 2015 بتنفيذ تغييرات استراتيجية جذرية مهّدت الطريق لمستقبل باهر. نعتزم في مجموعة صافولا تبنِّي منهج الاستثمارات القابضة تدريجيًا، بحيث نواصل توجيه استراتيجية العمل وإدارة النمو مع تطبيق مبادئ حوكمة ملائمة وتوفير استقلالية أكبر لشركاتنا التابعة. كما سنعمل بمرور الوقت على تقليل حصصنا في القطاعات غير الأساسية لعملنا حتى يتسنّى لنا التركيز على ما نُتقنه ونبرع فيه.

تضع صافولا نُصب عينيها رؤية جريئة وذكية ومبتكرة، كعادتها دائماً. غير أنّ الثابت الوحيد الذي لم ولن يتغير هو التزامنا التام بالمبادئ الأخلاقية والعمل بمقتضاها. هذا هو العامل الوحيد الذي ميّز شركتنا في عام 1979، والدافع القوي الذي يدفعنا للعمل كل يوم كما ستكشف لك صفحات موقعنا".

المهندس ريان محمد فايز
الرئيس التنفيذي

تاريخ الشركة

  • 1979

    تأسيس شركة صافولا

  • 1994

    دخول صافولا قطاع السكر
  • 1998

    استحواذ صافولا على شركة العزيزية بنده المتحدة
  • 2012

    حضور صافولا القوي في قطاع التجزئة بعدد 181 متجراً
  • 2013

    إصدار أول صكوك للشركة
  • 2013

    زيادة رأس مال الشركة من 5 مليار إلى 5,34 مليار ريال سعودي
  • 2015

    زيادة عدد متاجر البيع بالتجزئة بنسبة 44%

نُرحّب بتواصلك معنا في أي وقت!